Diane and Russ

A family journal from Memphis,Tn

Art for Arts Sake

I’ve never been the type of guy who gets ecited about a trip to the art gallery. I have seen the Mona Lisa, the Dahli ehibition and made several trips to the National Gallery in London but nothing ever really caught my imagination. I am the first to admit that I have a less than creative mind but I have always secretly wished that I had artistic/creative talent. (I also wish I could sing and drive the space shuttle).

Anyway – i have stumbled across the works of a guy called Phil Hansen and they are quite simply amazing on a number of levels. I have no idea how he gets the ideas he does and the talent it must take to produce them in such different mediums is outrageous. My personal favourite right now can be found HERE – it is amazing and baffles me as to how somebody could even start to compose an image like this. He also has a great studio cam which can be seen HERE. THe picture I have featured here is actually drawn onto the sidewalk with chalk and is composed of hundreds and hundreds of chalk stickmen! Crazy huh!
I know very little about this guy other than he lives and works in Washington – maybe he is fameous and wealthy from his works and maybe he isn’t. Take a look- it is well worth the time!
July 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

